This is my little space on the tubes, featuring a wild collection of my projects, music and experiments.

Archive for Freenet

FreeStyle.Darknet – Theme for Freenet

FreeStyle.Darknet is a theme for FProxy, the webinterface of Freenet.

The anonymous Darknet Freenet did some big steps forward in the last months. With the nearly simultaneous releases of Freetalk (forums), Sone (Twitter-clone), Floghelper (blogs), jFniki (wiki) und WoT (anonymous spam-protection), Freenet mutated to an anonymous, decentralized, encrypted social network.

But because the project doesn’t have a designer, the antiquated themes stayed unattended.
That’s why I started developing “FreeStyle.Darknet”, a modern theme in HTML5 and CSS3. Since I started the development as an experiment, I stayed with CSS for now (themes for Freenet don’t allow HTML). But because of the incomplete number of ids and classes in FProxies HTML code, it didn’t prove easy. So the theme will only work in its full glory on a modern browser. But it should work with older browsers and adapt to only use the features available in the browser.

In the meantime I’m in contact with Toad (Matthew Toseland), the main developer of the Freenet project. The theme will possibly be bundled with FProxy as an official theme later. But we also talk about a complete rewrite of FProxies HTML output. If we go down that road, I will be part of the development.

Installation

  1. Download the theme: freestyle.darknet (WWW link) or  CHK@…/freestyle.darknet.zip (Freenet link)
  2. Extract the theme into a directory of your choicel (should be inside the Freenet directory, but doesn’t have to be)
  3. Make sure I didn’t include anything that could jeopardize your privacy: Open the CSS files and search for URLs. All included files should be in the same directory. The included fonts are the official Droid Sans font-face Kit from Fontsquirrel. Remember: Themes aren’t filtered by FProxy!
    3.5 – While you’re at it: On the top of the file are some Options, you can configure according to your choices. But better test the theme first to find out what they do.
  4. In FProxy open the advanced config for your webinterface: http://localhost:8888/config/fproxy?mode=2 (Freenet-Link).
  5. Search for “Override the CSS with a custom one (WARNING!)” at the top of the page and enter the whole path to the main CSS file: “PATH_TO_THEMES_DIRECTORY/freestyle.theme.fproxy.darknet.css” <- change that according to your system.
  6. After saving the configs, the theme should be active. But reload the browser on some page of FProxy to make sure, there aren’t any old styles in the cache.

This is my little space on the tubes, featuring a wild collection of my projects, music and experiments.

Archive for Freenet

FreeStyle.Darknet – Theme für Freenet

FreeStyle.Darknet ist ein Theme für FProxy, das Webinterface von Freenet.

Das anonyme Darknet Freenet hat sich in den letzten Monaten in riesigen Schritten weiterentwickelt. Die fast gleichzeitige Veröffentlichung von Freetalk (Foren), Sone (Twitter-Klon), Floghelper (Blogs), jFniki (Wiki) und WoT (anonymer Spam-Schutz) hat aus Freenet ein anonymes, dezentrales, verschlüsseltes Social Network gemacht.

Da das Projekt keinen Designer hat, sind dabei leider die extrem altbacken wirkenden Themes auf der Strecke geblieben.
Daher bekann ich mit der Entwicklung von “FreeStyle.Darknet”, einem modernen Theme in HTML5 und CSS3. Da ich die Entwicklung als Experiment begann, beschränkte ich mich dabei erst mal nur auf CSS (Themes für Freenet erlauben kein HTML). Aufgrund sehr unzureichenden classes und ids im HTML Code von FProxy, gestaltete es sich als nicht ganz einfach. Daher ist das Theme Aufgrund vieler trickreicherCSS3 Selektoren nur auf aktuellen Browsern voll lauffähig. Trotzdem sollte es aber auch mit älteren Browsern benutzbar bleiben und immer so viele Features verwenden, wie für den jeweiligen Browser möglich sind.

Inzwischen bin ich mit Toad (Matthew Toseland), dem Hauptentwickler des Freenet Projects im Gespräch. Das Theme soll eventuell als eins der offiziellen Themes von FProxy mit ausgeliefert werden. Auch über eine Überarbeitung des kompletten HTML Codes von FProxy wurde schon gesprochen. Sollte dies demnächst umgesetzt werden, werde ich wahrscheinlich daran mitarbeiten.

Installation

  1. Lade das Theme herunter: freestyle.darknet (WWW-Link) oder  CHK@…/freestyle.darknet.zip (Freenet-Link)
  2. Entpacke das Theme in ein Verzeichnis deiner Wahl (sollte im Freenet Verzeichnis sein, muss es aber nicht unbedingt)
  3. Vergewissere dich, daß ich nichts eingebaut habe, das deine Anonymität gefährden könnte: Öffne die CSS Dateien und suche nach URLs. Alle eingebundenen Dateien sollten im selben Verzeichnis liegen. Die eingebundenen Schriften sind das offizielle Droid Sans font-face Kit von Fontsquirrel. Bedenke: Themes werden von FProxy nicht gefiltert!
    3.5 – Wo du schon mal dabei bist: Am Anfang der Main CSS Datei gibt es ein paar Einstellungen, die du nach deinem Geschmack einstellen kannst. Aber teste das Theme besser erst einmal, um zu sehen, was diese tun.
  4. In FProxy öffne die erweiteren Einstellungen deines Webinterface: http://localhost:8888/config/fproxy?mode=2 (Freenet-Link).
  5. Suche nach “Override the CSS with a custom one (WARNING!)” oben auf der Seite und gib den vollständigen Pfad zu der Main CSS Datei an: “PFAD_ZUM_THEMES_VERZEICHNIS/freestyle.theme.fproxy.darknet.css” <- ändere das entsprechend deines Systems.
  6. Nach dem speichern der Einstellungen sollte das Theme bereits aktiv sein. Aber nutze sicherheishalber den Reload Button des Browsers auf irgendeiner Seite von FProxy, um sicher zu gehen, daß keine alten Styles im Cache sind.